Maybe the universe *doesn’t* hate my band so much.

Back in Rio, recording again for the umpteenth weekend in a row. Last night we made some significant progress for the first time in 3 goddamn weeks. We had no *major* technical difficulties, and we were finally able to lay down the vocal tracks for the song we’ve been trying to finish for 3 goddamn weeks. It actually went really quickly and smoothly, and we were able to get both our vocals done within two hours, which is like twice as fast as usual, because we have both been practicing it a lot, for 3 goddamn weeks. So! Tonight we are recording a song where I perform 0% of the lyrics, so I kinda get to relax and just run the sound board and adjust the levels of the tracks and listen to make sure the timing and pitch are on point and press the buttons that make actual recording happen. … which actually isn’t relaxing at all even a little, but it is less stressful than having to sing stuff perfectly. My boyfriend came with me over here last night, he hung out with the dogs and kept them quiet while we recorded which was nice. But I do enjoy spending a bit of time apart, for fondness… and I think it’s healthy.

~~~~ several hours later ~~~~

Well, maybe the universe *does* hate my band a little bit! Actually I can’t really blame the universe too much on this one. We were trying a new way of recording piano and vocals at the same time, and we just weren’t as prepared as we thought we were. However, we did learn a lot about how to make it work and I think that will make it a lot easier next time. So… it was somewhat productive I suppose you could say.

Other random bullets about my weekend and other stuff:

-before I came in to record my brother asked me to go into his apartment and get his “computer, monitor, and keyboard” and bring them in with me. So, I did that and got those things, and then when I arrived here and he arrived here it turned out he meant his fucking PIANO KEYBOARD but I brought his TYPING WORDS KEYBOARD because he wanted his computer and that made SENSE TO ME and it was a stupid fucking miscommunication that we both felt stupid over… BUT! his roommate was able to bring it to us, so it wasn’t really a big deal.

– Today we took the dogs for a walk to wear them out so they would be happy and tired and not bug us while we tried to record, but the little dog spazzed out and tried to get under a fence to get at another dog and she got a pretty big cut above one of her front legs. It hardly bled at all, and she didn’t seem to be in much pain, so we just disinfected it and we’ve been keeping an eye on it all day and it already looks a lot better… but it still scared us and we were seriously considering taking her to the emergency vet for a minute there.

– Shout out to the 9 people who followed me since I started vaguely writing about kinky sex stuff.

– I just did some homework and turned it in

-I need to fucking sleep

-I should go to sleep

– I want a new book for my kindle tho.

Leave a Reply

