Mace and lace and mint toothpaste

Hahahahahahahahaha I’m freaking out guys. I feel so stressed out that it is radiating all throughout my body and manifesting in a very physical way and it feels fucking weird and terrible and duuuude I totally want to hide under a pile of blankets and cry for a couple hours and then sleep for like 36 hours and then I think I would be good. So far not fucking liking my new editor. He left me comments about things to change that directly contradict the earlier directions I was given… so that’s super fucking fun. It kills my soul to have to re-write things. I have Ron Weasley keeper complex. When he’s playing quidditch he’s a super good keeper until a quaffle gets past him, and then he loses all his confidence and starts sucking. That’s what happens to me with writing. Once I fuck something up and have to edit it, I completely lose my confidence and it makes me suck. Incidentally I had the same problem as an actual keeper when I played soccer. You guys like that sweet detailed Harry Potter reference? I hope you did. Today was my mom’s b-day and we hung out with her for a long time and it was nice, but I was stressed the whole entire time because of how much work I have to do and I got two emails about shit I need to edit and it’s killing my vulnerable little heart. It makes me feel better to write about it, which is vaguely ironic because writing stuff is the root of my problem. I feel so weak. How am I gunna do all this? I dunno… but I will. 

2 thoughts on “Mace and lace and mint toothpaste

  1. mrandisg says:

    I know how you feel. Anytime someone tells me I did something wrong, I feel like I’m the scum of the earth. It’s hard not to take it personally, especially when you’re writing. All I can say is try to keep in mind that an editor’s job is to help you improve your writing. Now, he may be going about it the wrong way, by being a jerk about it, but some people don’t know how to give constructive criticism. Just try to look past the insults, visible or invisible, and focus on making your writing the best it can be. I know you can do it. All you need is a drop of Felix Felicis 😉

    • valerianblue says:

      Haha Thank you for the comment! It’s weird how being told you made a mistake can make you feel so terrible. Like… everyone screws up it shouldn’t feel like such a huge deal.Oh man I would love some Felix Felicis that would be the best. (Excellent HP reference, 10/10 :-P) Anyway, do you write professionally? Or like.. for a living? Or just for your own enjoyment?

Leave a Reply

