piercing sound

Hey, so on Friday I got the mysterious thing I said I wanted to get for myself. It was a nose piercing. I’ve wanted one since I was like 18, but I’ve always been a little bitch about it and talked myself out of doing it for one reason or another. So, I set it as  my prize for a specific goal a couple months ago, and told myself that if I still wanted it when I achieved that goal, I would do it. And I did, so I did. The place where I had it done was really nice and chill and professional and fast. So far the piercing itself is doing really well. It’s still a little bit swollen and tender but it doesn’t hurt when I flare my nostrils anymore. Also, I adore it. I think it’s really cute and my nose is like my least favorite facial feature, but this makes me like it at least 20% more. “did it hurt?” yeah, it felt pretty much exactly how you’d imagine  having a needle shoved clean through your nostril would feel. But it was so fast, it hardly mattered. The pain was never the part I was worried about. That’s never what stopped me from getting it. There’s a bit of a (for lack of a better word) meditative quality to having a new piercing. You have to be constantly aware of it, and you have to be patient, and gentle, and diligent about taking care of it. You have to pay specific attention to a little piece of yourself you normally don’t pay any attention to. Anyway, overall I think it’s easier to care for than my ear cartilage piercings were. In other news, I bought two new pairs of jeans today. (and by new, I mean actually not new at all because I got them from a thrift store) I fucking hate clothes shopping *so bad* but like… I really had no freaking jeans. So, this store was having a half off sale so I was like… fuck it, let’s just get it over with. Last time I tried on jeans I was like between two sizes and nothing fit and it was fucking terrible and depressing. Today I tried on 6 pairs in the smaller size and *all of them* either fit me, or were slightly too big. It was beautiful, it was magical. It was not traumatizing at all. I got to pick the ones I wanted based on how they **actually looked** … not based on “oh good, one single pair that mostly fits me sort of okay. I will buy them.” Like… I had literal options. It was rad. The S.O ended up getting four shirts, and the total came out to like $17 for four shirts and two pairs of jeans, which is crazy cheap. I could use some new shirts too… but I wasn’t about to try and deal with that today. I’m hoping another batch of writing stuff will come in soon. I got an email today saying that it’s supposed to, but it hasn’t happened yet. Sooooo we’ll see I guess. I am the tired, sort of. I actually feel hella gripped with anxiety, in a formless, nebulous sort of way that sucks. yeah, okay, okay, yeah. I think I’m going to go now, and do some different types of things and stuff. Peace.

Leave a Reply

